Enforcement begins Jan. 1 after Oregon raises tobacco, vape … – KATU

PORTLAND, Ore. – A new law prohibits Oregon store owners from selling tobacco or vaping products to anyone under 21, and enforcement will start on January 1, 2018.

Governor Kate Brown signed a law into effect in August that raised the state’s legal age for purchasing tobacco or vape products from 18 to 21 years old.

The Oregon Health Authority and Oregon State Police said they wouldn’t start enforcing the law until the new year.

A handful of cities and local governments had already put the rules in place before Gov. Brown signed the legislation.

Oregon is the fifth state to increase the age to purchase tobacco along with California, Hawaii, Maine and New Jersey.

Any store caught selling the products to people under the age limit will face a $500 fine.

Read More Here...

This entry was posted in Vaporizer E-Cigarette Stocks News. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.